It Depends on Your Definition…

In my ongoing quest to bring the world helpful explanations about medical stuff, mostly the meaning of certain medical terms, I’ve been paying extra special attention to the different classifications of the common symptom of ‘Pain’. Here, for your education and my general catharsis, are excerpts from two memorable consultations I have had during my General Practice placement.

Me: Can you describe the pain?
Mrs Payne: Well, it’s a paining pain.
Me: So… is it like an ache, or a burn? Or maybe a stabbing pain?
Mrs Payne: No, it really is just a paining pain… You know, it just pains.

I know, it’s a paining pain.

Me: So, this pain in your legs, can you describe it for me?
Mrs Akers: Oh, it’s not a pain.
Me: Oh, I’m sorry, I thought you said you had a pain in your legs?
Mrs Akers: No, no, it’s not a pain, it’s an ache.

Definitely not a paining pain, then.

2 Comments

Filed under Med School

2 responses to “It Depends on Your Definition…

  1. mootle

    One Powerball toast? 😛

  2. Bahahahaha. I find those patients quite funny. I’ve encountered one who refuses to call her chest pain as ‘pain’, but more of a ‘discomfort’. When I asked her the scale of her ‘discomfort’, she said 8-9 out of 10. !!!

Leave a Reply

