The Finals Countdown

My final exams start a month from now, to the day. Between now and then I have four (count’em, four!) more days in General Practice, one more Emergency shift, six days on campus, and gaps in my knowledge you could drive a truck through. And so it is triage time.

I am hoping that, somehow, the things I don’t know I know are greater in number than the things I don’t know I don’t know. As these two knowledge groups are inherently unquantifiable, I will only think of them again if I need to confuse somebody.

Which leaves me with the things I know I know and the things I know I don’t know. Right now I feel like the split is about 20:80 – that said, the 80% is probably half things I have forgotten and need to embed in conscious recall, and half things I have just not got around to reading up on.

I feel a bit sick now.

2 Comments

Filed under Med School

2 responses to “The Finals Countdown

  1. This is terrifying. I am reading this and the sinking feeling I have is like someone has just told ME that my final exams are on Monday. How can this be? How can they do this to us? Rip us from the womb and drag us into this ‘real world’? I’m not ready for this – EVER!!!!

    And what after your final exams? Do you have more clinical stuff to do before paid employment awaits you?

  2. toast

    Scary as hell, huh? My guts clench into a freezing ball whenever I think about it.
    As for the next phase… your question just points out how slack I have been in documenting my inglorious adventures over the last six months or so.

Leave a Reply

